Jun 10 2012

Print this Post


By Jerry O’Brien
Proctor, MN

The big broom was out Sunday night at the Proctor Speedway as four of five

divisions saw clean sweeps. Ryan Aho from Chisholm had the measure of the

WISSOTA Modified division as he won the heat and led all the way in the 15 lap

feature. The event went flag to flag without a caution flag as Aho had a big lead by

the time Darrell Nelson shook free of the pack. Nelson made up ground but not

enough to reel in Aho who stayed the course for the dominant win. Jody

Bellefeuille finished third, E. J. Hietala fourth and Scott Heikkinen was fifth.

It was 20 laps for the WISSOTA Super Stocks and Donnie Lofdahl of Proctor

fended off all challenges to win the feature on his hometown track. Seven caution

flags kept the challengers close to Lofdahl after his initial lead was erased with the

first one. After the fourth slowdown Lofdahl went high in turn one on the restart

and Mike Bellefeuille and Scott Lawrence got by leaving him third but Lofdahl’s

luck held out and before a lap could be completed Ashley Smith spun in turn four.

The realignment put Lofdahl back in front and he didn’t make the same mistake

again. Two more caution flags slowed the action before the checkered flag was

shown, one for a Brian Carl Spin in turn four and the final one for debris. The final

caution came with six laps remaining and Lofdahl saw to it that Bellefeuille and

Lawrence didn’t get close enough to mount a challenge. Finishing fourth was

Andy Davey who was charged with the foul in a third turn tangle with Lawrence

and came from the back to challenge the three front runners. Al Rapp finished


Kyle Peterlin dominated the action in the 25 lap Fon-Du-Luth Casino

WISSOTA Late Model feature. Tim McMann jumped out to the early lead but

Peterlin sailed by on the back stretch and was never seriously challenged. With no

caution flags the field began to spread out and there was not much movement for

position. The half way point was quickly reached and the order stood at Peterlin,

McMann, Darrell Nelson, Harry Hanson and Todd Gehl in the top five. At the

checkered flag Peterlin was the winner with Nelson second, McMann third Todd

Gehl fourth and Todd Frank in the top five. Hanson pulled off and did not finish.

It was Mack Estey off to the early lead in the 15 lap Midwest Modified feature

but it didn’t take much time for Danny Vang to make his move from the third row

as he quickly closed on Estey and zipped by on the bottom into the lead. A caution

flag slowed the action ad at the restart Vang continued in the lead and pulled away

from Estey. Dan Kingsley moved into third followed by Loren Inman and Neil

Balduc. At the half way point the top five was the same with the exception that

Deven VanHouse had gotten by Balduc into fifth. Vang drove to an easy win and

was never challenged. The only change in the top five was VanHouse got by

Inman into fourth.

In the 15 lap Pure Stock feature Dustin Follett moved up from the third row on

the first lap and took the lead with Esten Nelson to second. Josh Loucks on the

move from the fourth row and slipped into third. A caution flag flew for Craig

Horak, but after that stoppage the event went to the end with no more caution

flags. There was some close racing for the lead for a time as the top three broke

away from the rest, but Follett was in command and was never seriously

challenged as the final checkered flag flew at 8:28.

Results 6-10-12 Proctor Speedway

WISSOTA Late Model

Feature (25 laps) Kyle Peterlin Hibbing; Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Tim

McMann Duluth; Todd Gehl Solon Springs; Todd Frank Mellen; Joey ogston

Duluth; Aaron Lillo Duluth; Scott Herrick Proctor DNF Harry Hanson Eveleth

Heat (10 laps): Peterlin; McMann; Hanson;; Nelson; Ogston; A. Lillo; Gehl;

Frank; Herrick

WISSOTA Modified

Feature (15 laps) Ryan Aho chisholm; Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Jody

Bellefeuille Duluth; E. J. Hietala Cloquet; Scott Heikkinen Eveleth; Nikki

Wrazidlo Duluth; DNS Cory Sersha; Kelly Estey

Heat (8 laps) Aho; Nelson; Estey; Hietala; Sersha; Bellefeuille; Wrazidla;


WISSOTA Super Stock (10 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Donnie Lofdahl Proctor; Mike Bellefeuille Duluth; Scott

Lawrence Superior; Andy Davey Hibbing; Al Rapp Saginaw; Kevin Salin Iron;

Pat Heikkinen Eveleth; Ronnie Malecki Superior; Brian Carl Duluth; Ashley

Smith South Range

Heat 1 (8 laps): Lawrence; Davey; Bellefeuille; Lofdahl; Carl

Heat 2 (8 laps): Salin; Heikkinen; Rapp; Smith; Malecki

WISSOTA Midwest Modified ( 15 cars)

Feature (15 laps) Danny Vang Brainerd; Dan Kingsley Superior; Mack Estey

Kelly Lake; Deven VanHouse Silver Bay; Loren Inman Proctor; Neil Balduc

Bessemer; Dan Larsen Hermantown; Andrew Inman Hermantown; Josh

Heavirland Cloquet; Jason Goldfine Superior; David Simpson Thunder Bay; Dan

doran Hermantown; Adam Shinn Duluth; Skeeter Estey Kelly Lake; Bruce

Johnson Duluth

Heat 1 (8 laps): L. Inman; Kingsley; VanHouse; Balduc; A. Inman; Larsen;

Simpson; Johnson

Heat 2 (8 laps): Vang; M. Estey; S. Estey; Heavirland; Goldfine; Doran; Shinn

Pure Stock (20 cars) Results Unofficial pending post race inspection

Feature (15 laps) Dan Follett Cloquet; Esten Nelson Silver Bay; Josh Loucks

Carlton; Matt Hammitt Cloquett; Jon Hammitt Cloquet; Justin Bassa Hermantown;

Josh Danielson Carlton; Derek Ament Barnum; Josh Overn Mahotwa; Dale

Reynolds Cloquet; Annika Hammitt Cloquet; Shania Rapp Saginaw DNF Corey

Lonetto Duluth; Rita Anderson South Range; Brett Lieno Moose Lake; Andy

Lieno Moose Lake; Mark Korte Duluth; Craig Horak Grand Marais; Jeff

Engelmeier Saginaw; Erik Pederson Saginaw

Heat 1 (8 laps): J. Hammitt; Daniels; A. Lieno; A. Hammitt DNF Korte; Horak

Heat 2 (8 laps): Follett; Engelmeier; Lonetto; Pederson; Overen; S. Rapp DNF


Heat 3 (8laps): M. Hammitt; Loucks; E. Nelson; Bassa; Ament DNF R. Anderson

Permanent link to this article: http://proctorspeedway.com/peterlin-vang-aho-and-follett-sweep-proctor-action/