Aug 12 2012

Print this Post


By Jerry O’Brien 8-12-12 Proctor, MN

Darrell Nelson of Hermantown, MN won Race of Champions qualifying

features Sunday August 12 at the Proctor Speedway. The wins qualify him for the

Races of Champions in each division at the 2012 WISSOTA 100 in September

held at the South Dakota State Fair Speedway in Huron, SD should he choose to

make the trip.

Scott Lawrence, Superior, Deven VanHouse and Glenn Dammer won the other

feature events.

Donnie Lofdahl led the first three laps of the 20 lap Super Stock Main event

until the caution flag flew for the stalled car of pat Heikkinen that rolled to a stop

in turn three. Point leader Scott Lawrence took advantage of the restart as he

jumped to the front at the green flag with a good run off turn two. Lawrence led

Lofdahl, Kevin Salin, Andy Davey and Ashley Smith and raced out to an eight car

length lead. The only change in the top five before the mid point came when

Davey got the better of Salin and went to third. Lawrence increased his lead to

three quarters of a straight away while Lofdahl held a like amount of distance over

Davey. A caution flag flew with seven laps remaining which closed up the pack.

Lawrence went on to take the win, his fifth of the season, ahead of Lofdahl,

Davey, Salin and Brian Carl. Lawrence has qualified for the 2012 Pace of


The field for the WISSOTA Modified feature was a tiny one and, as a result,

only ran a ten lap feature. At the start Nelson was gone and Nick Musel, Jody

Bellefeuille and Scott Heikkinen duked it out briefly for second. Nelson raced out

to almost a half lap lead and won literally going away. Bellefeuille, Musel and

Heikkinen finished in that order. It was Nelson’s forth Modified win of the season

at the speedway.

Jeff Engelmeier led early and often in the 15 lap Pure Stock feature, Glenn

Dammer, Esten Nelson, Dustin Follett and Craig Horak battled in a pack for

second. A pair of caution flags slowed the action, the first for a Lucas Carlson spin

in the first turn, the second for a tangle between Andy Leino and Annika Hammitt.

Leino’s number 06 suffered a broken drive shaft. At the restart Engelmeier held

onto the lead over Dammer but some rubbing in the pack resulted in the front

bumper being partially ripped off the front of the #3D. The caution flag was

shown so the errant part could be removed. Unfortunately racing without a bumper

on either end is not allowed and Follett was disqualified. Engelmeier led off at the

restart with Nelson second and Dammer third. Dammer got by to the lead and went

on to win his first feature in some time driving his father’s car.

The start in the 20 lap Midwest Modified feature was called off when the car of

Jim Inman rolled to a stop on the back stretch. The next try was successful and

Dan Kingsley took the lead ahead of Danny Vang, Josh Heavirland, John Kaiser

and point leader Deven Vanhouse. Kingsley drove away to a good lead while

Vang, Heavirland and Kaiser battled for second and were soon joined by

VanHouse. Kaiser surged to second and began to track down Kingsley. The

caution flag appeared for a tangle between Heavirland and Dan Larsen in turn one.

At the green Vang made run on Kaiser and took the lead as VanHouse got by

Kingsley and Neil Balduc joined the action. VanHouse got past Vang and saw

daylight at the front but again the yellow flag flew when Kingsley, Kaiser and

Kyle Matuska tangled in turn one. On the restart Vang was overwhelmed by

Balduc and Kingsley inside and out falling back to fourth. VanHouse was cruising

out ahead of the pack and went on to take his third feature win of the season.

Kingsley, Balduc, Vang and Kaiser finished in the top five.

Harry Hanson led Tim McMann at the start of the 20 lap Late Model feature

followed by Joey Ogston, Kyle Peterlin and Aaron Lillo. A caution flag flew when

Dave Esse and Lillo tangled on the front stretch with a pair of laps concluded.

Hanson held onto the lead at the restart and Darrell Nelson appeared in third.

Hanson continued in control as the laps slipped by. Hanson then made a slip at the

top of turn two and Nelson shot by leaving Hanson to fend off Peterlin. Nelson led

the rest of the way for his fourth Late Model win of the season. Peterlin, Hanson,

McMann and Ogston rounded out the top five.

Results Proctor Speedway 8-12-12

WISSOTA Late Model

Feature ( 20 laps) Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Kyle Peterlun Hibbing; Harry

Hanson Eveleth; Tim McMann Duluth; Joey Ogston Duluth; Todd Frank Mellen;

Aaron Lillo Duluth; Dave Esse Cloquet

Heat ( 8 laps): Peterlin; Hanson; Ogston; McMann; Lillo; Esse; Frank; Nelson

WISSOTA Modified

Feature (10 laps) Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Jody Bellefeuille Duluth; Nick

Musel Duluth; Scott Heikkinen Eveleth

Heat (8 laps): Nelson; Musel; Heikkinen; Bellefeuille

WISSOTA Super Stock

Feature (20 laps) Scott Lawrence Superior; Donnie Lofdahl Proctor; Andy Davey

Hibbing; Kevin Salin Iron; Brian Carl Duluth; Ronnie Malecki Superior; Mike

Bellefeuille Duluth; Ashley Smith Superior; Pat Heikkinen Eveleth; Al Rapp


Heat (8 laps): Lofdahl; lawrence; Davey; Salin; Smith; Rapp; Carl; Heikkinen;

Malecki; Bellefeuille

WISSOTA Midwest Modified ( 17 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Deven VanHouse Silver Bay; Dan Kingsley Superior; Neil

Balduc Bessemer; Danny vAng Brainerd; John Kaiser Lake Norden, SD; Adam

Shinn Duluth; Andrew Inman Hermantown; Dan Doran Hermantown; Chris

Bretting Washburn; Tom mackey Hermantown; Cory Ziebol Cloquet; Dan Larsen

Hermantown; Kyle Matuska Stacy; Josh Heavirland Cloquet; Tony Croninger

Watertown, SD; Dale Suomala Hermantown; Jim Inman Duluth

Heat 1 (8 laps): Vang; Heavirland; Matuska; Croninger; Suomala; Mackey;

Bretting; Ziebol; Shinn

Heat 2 (8 laps): Kingsley; VanHouse; Larsen; kaiser; Balduc; A. Inman; Doran; J.


Pure Stock (16 cars)

Feature (15 laps) Glenn Dammer Duluth; Jeff Engelmeier Saginaw; Craig Horak

Grand Marais; Esten nelson Grand Marais; Matt Hammitt Cloquet; Dale Reynolds

Cloquet; Rita Anderson South Range; Shaina Rapp Saginaw; Justin Bassa

Hermantown; Lucas Carlson Cloquet; Jon Hammitt Cloquet; Dustin Follett

Cloquet; Andy Leino Barnum; Annika Hammitt Cloquet; Brett Leino Moose Lake;

Josh Loucks Carlton

Heat 1 (8 laps): Follett; J. Hammitt; M. Hammitt; Horak; Carlson; Reynolds; A.

Hammitt; B. Leino; Loucks

Heat 2 (8 laps): Nelson; Engelmeier; Dammer; Anderson; Rapp; Bassa; B. Leino;

A. Leino

Permanent link to this article: http://proctorspeedway.com/nelson-qualifies-for-roc-in-mod-and-lm-at-proctor/