By Jerry O’Brien 8-19-13 Proctor, MN

Sunday night August 19th was the much anticipated and postponed American Cancer Society

Relay For Life Race Against Cancer. The event was very successful, though the numbers are not

finalized, the total raised is in the neighborhood of $11,000. This was the sixth year of the Race

Against Cancer and the monies raised for ACS is around $70,000.

With all the rain outs early in the year only six races were held that counted toward the track

point championships and all of them came to a head on this Sunday. Darrell Nelson of

Hermantown, MN pulled off another double championship season winning both the Late Model

and Modified titles. Superior’s Scott Lawrence defended his 2012 title winning five of six

features. Danny Vang made his trips east from Brainerd, MN count as he won the Midwest

Modified track championship and Glenn Dammer of Duluth won the Pure Stock crown by a

scant three points. All results are unofficial at this writing. For the official standings see the

Proctor Speedway website.

With 76 cars on hand in the five divisions, there were enough cars in each division for two

heats in each. When qualifying was finished, the first feature to roll onto the speedway was for

the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds.

Chris Bretting got a good jump at the start but a caution flag for a spinning Jori Hughes set the

tone for the event which had five caution flags in the 20 lap race. The second caution flag came

while trying to get in that first lap when Andrew Inman spun collecting four cars. When they

finally got going, it was Dan Kingsley who was in the thick of the points race, got off to a good

start with Vang and Mack Estey in hot pursuit along with Deven VanHouse and Josh Heavirland.

Vang vaulted to second as the top three pulled away from the rest. Jesse Ogston who had started

ninth moved past heavirland into the top five at this point. Caution flag number three flew when

Vang and Kingsley collided in turn three, a hit and spin with Vang charged with the incident.

Unfortunately Vang’s car was damaged and he fell from competition. The restart came with ten

laps remaining and Kingsley still in front. VanHouse took to the top shelf and the high side

momentum took him into the lead. Estey and Heavirland were third and fourth while Jake

Gondik moved into the top five. The fourth caution flag necessitated another restart and

Gondik’s run came to an end with the fifth caution flag as he got caught up in a first turn incident

with Adam Shinn and Inman. The race went the rest of the way without further incident as the

leaders were slinging around the high side. VanHouse, Kingsley; Estey, Ogston and Heavirland

finished in the top five. Vang’s point lead was large enough to survive the DNF and he won the

championship by 11 points over VanHouse.

The WISSOTA Super Stocks were up next and this one did not begin well as pole sitter Andy

Labarge spun in the first turn right in front of the 16 car field. Miraculously everyone missed him

but his chances for another feature win were greatly diminished as he was sent to the tail of the

field. The next try went better and Kevin Burdick popped out of the field on the favored high side

into the lead with Joe Oliver right on his bumper. Andy Grymala, Jim Campbell and Scott

Lawrence in a bunch. Donnie Lofdahl took an unintended trip off turn three bringing out the

second caution flag. On the restart with Burdick and Oliver leading, Lawrence moved upstairs

going into third looking for second but Dan Yrjanson’s caution flag stopped that effort

momentarily. At this point only four laps were recorded. The restart saw Lawrence resume his

quest and he moved around Oliver to the lead, a move that was stalled when Lofdahl and

LaBarge went around in turn three. Lawrence restarted at the point, protected the inside in the

first turn then went back to the momentum and pulled away while Burdick was dealing with

Shawn McFadden, Jr who has been on a tear lately. Appearing in the top five in fourth for the

first time was Wayne Stricker who had started 15th and quietly worked his way into contention


Oliver fell to fifth. Lawrence was still strong in the high groove though Burdick showed signs of

inching closer. He could get no nearer than a couple of car lengths as Lawrence won his fifth

feature of the season at the speedway and defended his 2012 crown by McFadden, Burdick and

Oliver who finished in a three way tie for second in the final standings. In the actual feature the

top five were Lawrence, Burdick, Stricker, Oliver and Brian Carl.

Darrell Nelson held a four point lead in the WISSOTA Modified standings entering the final

points race of the season. Jeff Broking and Jody Bellefeuille shared the front row for the 20 lpa

main event and it was Bellefeuille who used the high groove to take the lead at the outset over

Broking, Ryan Aho, Neil Balduc and Brian Mikkonen. Nelson was on the move also working the

Page 1 of 3 | Next page