Jun 30 2014

Print this Post


By Jerry O’Brien 6-29-14

For the first time this racing season at the Proctor Speedway the

temperature matched the sunny and windy skies. The track crew did a

yeoman job reclaiming the track surface f rom the torrential rains that had

fallen during the night.

Cory Jorgenson of Hermantown was looking to nail down a Late Model

feature win in the 25 lap WISSOTA Late Model feature but first time visitor

Brent Larson of Lake Elmo, MN had other ideas. Larson mentioned that he

and his crew have been driving all over the area “chasing rain storms”

looking for someplace to race. The search took him to the Proctor Speedway

Sunday evening and paid off for him. Jorgenson led early on from the pole

and was hounded for several laps by Zach Wohlers, Larson, Kevin Carlson

and Terry Lillo. A couple of caution flags aided Larson who was in second

by the ten lap mark and pressuring Jorgenson enough that he spun around at

the top of turn one. The call went against Jorgenson leaving Larson sitting in

front ahead of Wohlers, Carlson, Harry Hanson and Tim McMann. The top

five would finish in that order except for Hanson who encountered trouble

and slipped back giving over fifth place to Kyle Peterlin. Larson turned the

fastest lap with a scorcher at 16.903 seconds for an average speed of 79.9


E. J. Hietala of Cloquet, MN outlasted the competition and won his first

ever WISSOTA Modified feature at the Proctor Speedway Sunday night.

Though it was a small field of cars and attrition whittled the pack down to

four cars running at the finish, a win is still a win especially if it is your first

one. Though Hietala has been racing for a number of years, since moving

into the high powered modified division wins have not come.

The win didn’t come easy for Hietala despite the small field as three

caution flags kept the competition close. At the initial green flag Hietala

sneaked through from the second row to take a lead he would never

relinquish. Despite strong pressure from Cory Jorgenson’s number 16 and the

caution flags, Hietala kept his number six at the front the entire 20 lap

distance for the win. Hietala, Jorgenson, Deven VanHouse and Donnie

Lofdahl were the only finishers. Jorgenson’s final lap in pursuit of the leader

was the fastest of the event at 17.867 seconds for an average speed of 75. 6


Shawn “Boo” McFadden, Jr cruised to his third WISSOTA Super Stock

feature win in the 20 lap main event. But, at the start it was Kevin Burdick

who was in charge early on over defending track champion Scott Lawrence.

After a second lap caution flag, McFadden and Kevin Salin ganged up on

Lawrence and took over second and third. It soon came down to a battle

between Burdick and McFadden and the two move d away from the field to

settle it between them. At the half way point McFadden had overtaken

Burdick and the order, third through fifth was Salin, Lawrence and Pat

Heikkinen. It was all McFadden the rest of the way. McFadden also turned

the fastest lap of the event with a lap of 17. 669 seconds for an average of

76.4 mph.

It was also a first ever feature win for WISSOTA Midwest Modified racer

Jake Gondik as he took the number 29g to a convincing win in the 20 lap

feature. Jesse Ogston took the early lead at the green flag over Chad

VanDuker, Carey LePage, Cody Carlson and Dan Kingsley. There were two

early caution flags and on the second restart Carlson surged to the front and

pulled away as Gondik took over the second spot. Carlson began to put some

distance on the field but Gondik stayed in striking distance. Carlson slid high

in turn two and Gondik got by as did Willie Thompson. Gondik stayed out

front from the half way point and took his first career feature win over

Thompson, Ogston, Carlson and Deven VanHouse.

Fans have become accustom this season watching Dustin Follett decimate

the pure stock ranks with the big green station wagon but this time he

brought out the car that was damage the first night out and won the Pure

Stock 15 lap main event. Follett always maintained that as soon as the frame

damage on the other car was repaired he would bring it back. It came down to

a three car battle at the end between Follett, Josh Loucks and Lucas Carlson.

Follett pulled away to a six car length lead in the closing laps to take the win

over Loucks, Carlson, Glenn Dammer and Mike Blevins.

Results Proctor Speedway 6-29-14 ( 63 cars)

WISSOTA Late Model (12 cars)

Feature (25 laps) Brent Larson Lake Elmo, MN; Zach Wohlers Pengilly, MN;

Kevin Carlson Hermantown, MN; Tim McMann Duluth; Kyle Peterlin

Hibbing, MN; Scott Herrick Proctor; Aaron Lillo Proctor; Harry Hanson

Eveleth, MN; Tim Lillo Superior DNF: Robbie Cooper South Range, WI;

Cory Jorgenson Hermantown; Terry Lillo Duluth

Heat 1: Peterlin; Hanson; T. Lillo; Herrick; A. Lillo DNF: McMann

Heat 2: Larson; Wohlers; Carlson; Jorgenson; Cooper; T. Lillo

WISSOTA Modified (9 cars)

Feature (20 laps) E. J. Hietala Cloquet, MN; Cory Jorgenson Hermantown;

Deven VanHouse Silver Bay, MN; Donnie Lofdahl Duluth DNF: Zach

Pagels Ashland, WI; Nikki Wrazidlo Duluth; Jeff Broking Grand Rapids,

MN; Brian Mikkonen Iron River, WI; Scott Heikkinen Eveleth

Heat: Broking; Mikkonen; Jorgenson; Lofdahl; Heitala; Wrazidlo; Pagels

DNF: VanHouse; Heikkinen

WISSOTA Super Stock ( 10 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Shawn McFadden Ashland; Kevin Burdick Proctor; Kevin

Salin Iron, MN: Scott Lawrence Superior; Pat Heikkinen Eveleth; Dan

Severson Crosby, MN; Brian Carl Duluth; Ronnie Malecki Superior DNF:

Willir Johnsen, Jr Superior DNS: Dan Yrjanson Carlton, MN

Heat: McFadden; Johnsen, Jr; Lawrence; Burdick; Severson; Heikkinen;

Salin; Carl; Malecki DNF: Yrjanson

WISSOTA Midwest Modified (15 cars)

Feature (20 laps) Jake Gondik Foxboro, WI; Willy Thompson Hibbing; Jesse

Ogston Duluth; Cody Carlson Superior; Deven VanHouse Silver Bay; Dan

Kingsley Superior; Chad VanDuker Medowlands, MN; Andrew Inman

Hermantown; Jeremy Lindquist Ashland; Josh Overn Mahatowa, MN DNF:

Carey LePage Culver, MN; Justin Bassa Hermantown; Dale Soumala

Hermantown; Danny Vang Brainerd, MN DNS: Chris Bretting Washburn,


Heat 1: Carlson; Thompson; Ogston; VanDuker; A. Inman; Overn DNF:

Lindquist; Bretting

Heat 2: VanHouse; LePage; Gondik; Kingsley; Bassa; Soumala; Vang

Pure Stock (18 cars)

Feature (15 laps) Dustin Follett Cloquet; Josh Loucks Carlton; Lucas Carlson

Cloquet; Glenn Dammer Hermantown; Mike Blevins Hibbing; Matt Deragon

Ashland; Mike Sirois Hermantown; Annika Hammitt Cloquet; Mark Korte

Duluth; Austin Blom Saginaw, MN; Shaina Rapp Saginaw; Brandle Pupp

Ashland; Ryan Madsen South Range DNF: Jeremy Theisen; Matt Cunha

Hibbing; Matt Hammitt Cloquet; Melissa Blaylock Solon Springs, WI DNS:

Derek Ament Barnum, MN

Heat 1: Follett; Deragon; Dammer; Theisen; Rapp; Cunha; Blaylock DNF:

Loucks; Ament

Heat 2: Carlson; Blevins; Blom; Sirois; M. Hammitt; A. Hammitt; Korte;

Pupp DNF: Madsen

Permanent link to this article: http://proctorspeedway.com/hietala-wins-first-wissota-modified-feature-proctor/