By Jerry O’Brien


Proctor, MN

A transplanted Australian now living in Forest Lake, MN won the 20 lap

feature for the Upper Midwest Sprint Series (USMSS) at the Proctor Speedway

Sunday night. Pole sitter Chris Graf was out front and flying for the first eleven

laps but Brooke Tatnell who started fifth, tracked him down and made what

proved to be the winning pass off turn two and was never caught the rest of the

way. Tatnell added to his total as the leading UMSS feature winner. He now has

14 wins in the fledgling organization which in its fourth season. Jerry Richert, Jr

also of Forest Lake is second with 11 wins.

The feature started out badly with a wild flip by 2010 rookie of The Year Jared

Goerges off turn three/four on the first try for lap one. At the restart Graf repeated

his great start and flew into the lead with Tatnell, Richert, Jr., Jason Tostenson and

Andy Jones in attendance. The leaders quickly caught the back markers and began

the lapping process. Jones came up on the slower car of Katrina Sautbine in turn

one, appeared to clip her car and executed a flip of his own bringing out the red

flag. Both drivers who crashed were uninjured but both cars were out of the event.

At the half way point Graf led Tatnell, Richert, Jr., Tostenson and Sye Anderson

in the top five. On lap 11 Tatnell made the pass for the lead and three laps later

Leigh Thomas spun in turn one bringing out the final caution flag with six laps

remaining. At the green Richert, Jr passed Graff for second on the back stretch,

Tatnell had clear sailing ant took the win over Richert, Jr., Graf, Tostenson and


It was two in a row for Kyle Peterlin as he won the WISSOTA Late Model

feature. At the green flag there was a scramble in turns one and two and veteran

driver Tim McMann shot out of the pack to the lead. Kevin Carlson, Todd Frank

and Joey Ogston battled for second as Peterlin moved into fourth from his fourth

row starting spot ahead of Jay Kintner. Peterlin joined the battle for second as

Frank muscled his way past Carlson to claim second. Peterlin went charging after

Frank as Harry Hanson raced into the fourth spot. The caution flag appeared when

Kintner’s car appeared to stall. With 14 circuits remaining, the green flag flew

with McMann still at the point and Peterlin, who had taken second, closing. At the

half way point McMann led Peterlin, Frank, Carlson, Hanson and Aaron Lillo.

Ogston, Jeff Massingill, newcomer Jeff Sayler and Robbie Cooper in the top ten.

At this point the battle for fourth between Hanson and Carlson was the best on the

track. Up front Peterlin made an inside move on McMann, then went to the outside

and back to the inside to make the pass for the lead on the back stretch and went

on to take the win. McMann held onto second, Carlson, Hanson and Lillo rounded

out the top five.

The 20 lap Super Stock feature got off to a ragged start as Willie Johnsen, Mike

Bellefeuille and Al Rapp got tangled up. Bellefeuille was called for the infraction

and, on the restart, Donnie Lofdahl shot out to the lead. Kevin Salin, Tyler kintner

and Nick Oreskovich gave chase as Scott Lawrence and Andy Davey skirmished

for fifth. Lofdhal was in control but Salin was nipping at his heels as Oreskovich

slipped into third. Salin went off turn one and returned to the track without a

caution flag slipping back a number of spots. Lawrence charged into third as

Oreskovich went after Lofdahl and the two tangled collecting Lawrence. Lawrence

and Oreskovich slid off the back stretch into the weeds at the entrance to turn three

and Lofdahl also went for a spin bringing out the caution flag. Lofdahl retreated to

the work area, Oreskovich was charged with the foul and Lawrence was left with

the lead. Lofdahl returned at the back of the pack as Lawrence drove off to a

comfortable lead leaving Davey and Kintner in a battle for second. Johnsen and

Bellefeuille also ran in the top five. Davey finally bested Kintner and was helped

by a caution flag with five laps to go when Al Rapp went off turn four. At the

restart Lawrence had Davey to contend with and the two battled it out for the

remaining circuits. On the white flag lap Davey was able to get a good run to the

inside off turn two and got by to the lead in turn three but Lawrence made an

inside charge of his own off turn four but came up inches short at the checkered

flag. It was the first win at Proctor for Davey.

The Midwest Modified 20 lap feature was a caution flag filled affair as six

yellow flags slowed the action. A pair of #68′s put on all the fireworks in the early

going as the 68L driven by Dan Larsen got a gonzo start at the initial green flag

but a caution for Loren Inman’s excursion off turn one brought out the caution

flag. The restart saw Larsen agin out to the lead but again the caution flag

appeared this time Andrew Inman bunted Josh Heaviland in turn one and both

took a spin. Heaverland was out and, at the green Larsen was joined by the other

Page 1 of 3 | Next page